RSS

God’s Contract of Grace

26 Oct

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” — II Chronicles 7:14
flag-bible

It is often said that scripture is taken out of context or in some way doesn’t apply to us today. But God had many promises throughout the Bible and His promises are sure.

I have only a very casual interest in numerology but found something interesting referring to the scripture promise above. II Chronicles is the 14th book of the Bible. Then you have the 7th chapter and the 14th verse of the chapter. In total, you have five (5) sevens in that scripture reference.

So if you look at the Biblical significance of five, what do you find? The number is associated with grace, man, and the torah- having 5 books. Torah literally means: ‘instruction, doctrine, law,’ from yārāh ‘show, direct, instruct.’

Here are some links about the Biblical significance of the number 5:

agapebiblestudy

seekingtruth

You can also see that the number seven is analogous to completeness and spiritual perfection.

So, taken together, what do we see? The promise of II Chronicles 7:14 is a contract of grace with man to the seventh power of completion. God says if we do these things, i.e. humble ourselves and seek him, that he will come through in perfect grace. Seven times grace. That is a lot of grace.

It is less about who we are, and more about who HE is.

What can God do for a people?

Therefore say unto the house of Israel, Thus saith the Lord GOD; I do not this for your sakes, O house of Israel, but for mine holy name’s sake, which ye have profaned among the heathen, whither ye went. And I will sanctify my great name, which was profaned among the heathen, which ye have profaned in the midst of them; and the heathen shall know that I am the LORD, saith the Lord GOD, when I shall be sanctified in you before their eyes. For I will take you from among the heathen, and gather you out of all countries, and will bring you into your own land. Then will I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you. A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh. And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them. And ye shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; and ye shall be my people, and I will be your God. I will also save you from all your uncleannesses: and I will call for the corn, and will increase it, and lay no famine upon you. And I will multiply the fruit of the tree, and the increase of the field, that ye shall receive no more reproach of famine among the heathen. Then shall ye remember your own evil ways, and your doings that were not good, and shall lothe yourselves in your own sight for your iniquities and for your abominations. Not for your sakes do I this, saith the Lord GOD, be it known unto you: be ashamed and confounded for your own ways, O house of Israel.

Thus saith the Lord GOD; In the day that I shall have cleansed you from all your iniquities I will also cause you to dwell in the cities, and the wastes shall be builded. And the desolate land shall be tilled, whereas it lay desolate in the sight of all that passed by. And they shall say, This land that was desolate is become like the garden of Eden; and the waste and desolate and ruined cities are become fenced, and are inhabited. Then the heathen that are left round about you shall know that I the LORD build the ruined places, and plant that that was desolate: I the LORD have spoken it, and I will do it.

Thus saith the Lord GOD; I will yet for this be inquired of by the house of Israel, to do it for them; I will increase them with men like a flock. As the holy flock, as the flock of Jerusalem in her solemn feasts; so shall the waste cities be filled with flocks of men: and they shall know that I am the LORD. – Ezekiel 36:22-38

Do we claim this promise?

Do we, who are called Christian, humble ourselves and pray?

Do we seek God with a perfect heart, and reject wickedness?

In many ways, it seems that we are at a tipping point.

Will God hear us, or is it too late?

Where does our help come from?

I lift up my eyes to the hills.
From where does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot be moved;
he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;
the Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day,
nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all evil;
he will keep your life.
The Lord will keep
your going out and your coming in
from this time forth and forevermore.

–Psalm 121 ESV

Here is a message that should motivate Christians. Below is the short version, full version in link below.

 

http://www.trunews.com/listen/trunews-10-18-16-rick-wiles-will-god-grant-america-a-reprieve

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “God’s Contract of Grace

Leave a Reply

 
