RSS

Reading the Bible

31 Dec

I figured out that you can read throught the Bible in just under 1 year by reading 2 chapters a day of the New Testament and when starting the Old Testament, increasing that to 4 chapters a day.  There are 260 chapters in the NT so you would spend 130 days reading that.  And there are 929 chapters in the OT so you would spend 232.25 days reading that.  Total: 362.25 days.

I’ve been plowing through the Bible since October at a two-chapter-a-day rate (Romans through Revelation so far) but I’m thinking of increasing that when starting the Old Testament.  For me, a calendar is indespensable in keeping track of where I am.  I also pick out a memorable verse from my reading and write that down in my calendar.  Some days I don’t get the Bible read, so I have to ‘catch up’ on other days.

Two chapters a day seems to be (and is) more doable, so I recommend starting in the New Testament. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 31, 2011 in Faith, Life, The Bible

 

One response to “Reading the Bible

  1. Bernice Hartzell

    January 1, 2012 at 3:43 am

    I like that suggestion about writing down a memorable verse. Remembering scripture helps one to live by it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
