RSS

Thank you

05 Nov

In the month of November, many people like to count their blessings. With the national holiday of Thanksgiving coming up, and as the weather gets colder, it just seems fitting somehow to be thankful for – well for starters – being warm and well fed.

Thankfulness is a powerful emotion and this point is emphasized in the Bible. The word ‘thanksgiving’ alone is found 28 times in the Bible. Besides having a profound impact on the thankful person, it can also have a profound impact when one is verbally thanked.

There is an episode in the book of Luke (Luke 17:11-19) in which there where ten men with the disease of leprosy who implored Jesus to heal them, and he replied that they should go show themselves to the priest. All ten were healed on the way to see the priest.

“And one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, and with a loud voice glorified God,
And fell down on his face at His feet, giving him thanks: and he was a Samaritan.
And Jesus answering said, Were there not ten cleansed? but where are the nine?
There are not found that returned to give glory to God, save this stranger.
And he said unto him, Arise, go thy way: thy faith hath made thee whole.”

Luke 17:15-19

Even Jesus notices when one gives thanks. Is thankfulness faithbuilding? It just might be.

I had the experience recently of looking for a job after being at home with my daughter for two years. In this economy, you really have to use every avenue available to find a job. I had done numerous applications, expanded my network on LinkedIn, used Jibe, used Indeed and the state unemployment website, went to a couple workshops at the local unemployment office, connected with recruiters, and posted my resume on every major job board out there. I did find a job after about three months of searching, getting better as I went along. This job checked all four of the items on my wish list. A couple of the avenues above had led to me finding a job, and I actually had to turn down some interviews after accepting the position and taking my resume down from the job boards. When it started to rain, it seemed to flood.

For the job I did get, it was only after three interviews, and fairly extensive testing. I was growing weary. After the 2nd interview, I sent an emailed thank you, one to the HR manager and one to the hiring manager. I am an accountant, and gushy thank you notes don’t seem quite natural to me, but I drafted a nice thank you anyway. Almost immediately, I got a call back for my third and final interview. I was still in competion. This was the ‘meet everyone’ interview that can make me nervous. When the company president asked me on a scale of 1-10 my excitement level for the job, I said it was at a 9. This of course peaked his curiousity, and he asked the natural follow up question. For it to be a 10, I said, they would have to show some enthusiasm about bringing me on board. I was basically closing on the job. I got the call back early the next morning, I don’t think they even interviewed the other person who I believe was scheduled for later that day. Without my thank you note and showing that this was something I really wanted, it could have been the other person interviewed first, and I could have easily been aced out in the final analysis.

Is there a thank you that you need to give? It doesn’t always matter that it is a formal card, it can be an email, a phone call, or an in person thank you telling someone that you appreciate something they have done that benefited you. If you are self-employed, have you thanked your loyal clients? If you’re a mom or dad, have you thanked your children’s coach, teacher or babysitter who your child loves and who goes above and beyond? Many child care professionals are treated like the ‘hired help’ who only get interrogated instead of appreciated. Have you thanked your spouse for the little things they do? These are just a few examples. A thank you is powerful.

“A word fitly spoken Is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.”
Proverbs 25:11

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in Faith, Family, Life, The Bible

 

2 responses to “Thank you

  1. Roger

    November 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Thank God for my beautiful wife, daughter, and son!

     
    • Janet

      November 6, 2011 at 12:29 am

      Awww. 🙂 ♥♥♥♥

       

Leave a Reply

 
